Friday, 26 February 2010

QA : How can I modify ntuser.dat for base profile

QA :
How can I modify ntuser.dat for base profile "Default User". Regedit is not possible and copying a modified file from an existing user will also copy the users entries.
Modifications are needed for each user logging on for the first time to the machine. System is XP Professional.
ANS:
Editing the Registry for "other" Users
From an account with Administrator level access
1) Click Start, Run and enter REGEDIT
2) In Regedit, highlight the HKEY_USERS key and go to File, Load Hive.
3) Use the File Open dialog to go to the Documents and Settings\ folder, where is the account you wish to modify.
4) Highlight the NTUSER.DAT file in this folder (usually a hidden file) and select Open.
5) You'll be prompted to enter a "Key name". You can use whatever you wish, but I use the User's logon name.
6) You can now expand the Hive you just loaded and make any needed changes.
7) When finished, highlight this Hive again and go to File, Unload Hive.
NOTE: You MUST unload the Hive prior to logging on to the users account. Otherwise XP may have trouble loading the user's profile.

2 comments:

  1. Configaration for Windows 7

    http://blogs.technet.com/deploymentguys/archive/2009/10/29/configuring-default-user-settings-full-update-for-windows-7-and-windows-server-2008-r2.aspx

    ReplyDelete
  2. Difference between Run, Run Once, Active Setup



    Active Setup:



    It is used when your application requires installation of components such as files or registry keys on a per-user basis, but application has no advertised entry points or other triggers to initiate the installation process.



    Run:



    The Run key is processed after every logon, either by the Explorer shell, if it is present, or by First Boot Agent (FBA), if a custom shell, Command shell, or Task Manager Shell is used. If FBA processes this key, it does so after every logon, not during first boot as it normally would. Typically, this flag is used to load Systray applications, launch services in executables, hide autostart applications, or hide background processes



    Run Once:



    The RunOnce key is processed only once, by FBA, after Plug and Play device enumeration and DLL registration processing have completed. The values of this registry key are deleted from the registry after it is processed, so that it will not run again. Typically, this flag is used when a reboot is required, such as for a DLL or OCX registration, or for cleaning up a setup or an uninstall.

    ReplyDelete